SKYAUS.COM

Retrieve Password
 Register Now
!show!: 1410|Reply: 19

Can you get Austudy for a 2nd degree? [Copy URL]

Post time 2012-7-8 17:39:20 |Show all posts
Just curious.I completed a bachelor a few years ago, and have since nearly paid off my HECS debt, but now I'm out of a job again. I had a look through some Centrelink documentation and didn't see a whole lot saying I would be excluded from doing a second degree. Does anyone know?

Use magic Report

Post time 2012-7-8 17:46:20 |Show all posts

Can you get Austudy for a 2nd degree?

Yes you should be able to, as long as you fulfil all their other criteria. Many of my friends recieve benefits (both youth allowance and austudy depending on age) and we all have previous degrees. Best to talk to centerlink though they do have restrictions on how many years you can get benefits for. I don't recieve anything but I know a few of my friends who won't recieve anything in their final year.

Use magic Report

Post time 2012-7-8 17:49:20 |Show all posts

DoctorOwl writes...Centrelink documentation and didn't see a whole lot saying I would be excluded from doing a second degree. Does anyone know?As far as I know Centrelink have this thing called 'allowable time' (which they seem to bury somewhere as no one can find it on their website) which means you can only get Austudy for 1 type of degree.So if you're thinking of an undergrad and you already got Austudy for your previous undergrad, I think you may be out of luck...

Use magic Report

Post time 2012-7-8 17:55:20 |Show all posts

Best talk to them. A friend of mine did a second undergrad degree (after about 3 years), got Centrelink for a year, was cut off for six months, then went on the job seeker one for a while (ie, you have to apply for a number of jobs a week, even though you really don't want one because you're studying full time) and then got back on to the normal student one.

Use magic Report

Post time 2012-7-8 18:01:20 |Show all posts